s N har







Some helpful tips on how to get around




Tell us what you think!



Portugal's beauty has inspired a lovely lady who shares from her heart some verses, celebrating the Portuguese experience.

Enjoy her poetry here

Testimonials 2015-2011

Let our clients experiences entice you to visit Lagos and to stay with us. Email your feedback to: staywithus@simplylagos.com. We may post all or an excerpt of your testimonial.

"Website"
Coming across your site today was like winning a lottery
Most concise, informative, professionally designed vacation site
Best website of its kind I have seen
Helps to tap into the wealth of knowledge

"Condominium Apartments"
Highly recommended to our friends, Five Stars!
You REALLY CARED that we have a good experience
Perfect place to stay in to make a vacation memorable
Appreciate all of the extras which you provide
Quite the best accommodation it has been our pleasure to stay in
Overall standard and the attention to detail was outstanding
Best equipped property that we have stayed in
I really would challenge anyone to find a better apartment
We were all so thrilled that the apartment was way way above our expectations
Location excellent, apartment excellent, weather excellent
Love the apartment, love the complex, love Lagos
2nd year at apartment for us.....absolutely love it!
Apartment felt like our 'home away from home'

Testimonials from 2010-2008

Testimonials from 2007-1997

Name Comments
359 Karl & Siwan Blockwell
  Cardiff, Wales
  Oct 29, 2015

Dona Ana: Perfect as always. Lovely apartment right next to a quiet pool. Spectacular beaches and walks nearby. Easy stroll into the lovely main town.....


358 Nicki & Norman Beveridge
  Ayrshire, Scotland
  Oct 26, 2015

Dona Ana: Brilliant holiday. Apartment is very spacious, extremely well appointed and has a huge terrace overlooking the quiet pool area with views towards the sea. Local beaches are great and a short walk away. The apartment is in a private and secure condo and is well maintained. Place is spotless. Great local restaurants and a few well stocked shops. Ten minute gentle stroll takes you into Lagos old town which has loads of restaurants to suit all tastes. Really nice atmosphere. Lovely place to have an evening stroll and to just relax. Ken ad Marie provide loads of info and hints and tips on what to do, where to go etc so that you have good area knowledge without all the hastle of research. Their booking process is easy and reliable. Would definitely recommend it.


357 Diane & Colin Kennedy
  Nova Scotia, Canada
  Oct 4, 2015

Dona Ana: Colin and I got home to Antigonish last evening. We were very tired but at the same time feeling very high. We are so happy we went to Portugal. We could not believe how welcoming the people are to visitors. The Lagos area is so awesome. Colin and I believe we had the best accommodations of anyone there. We were close to the greatest beach, fabulous restaurants and still only a good walk from all the action. We could not believe the view when we first went into the apartment. We had breakfast every morning on the balcony.

Thank you so much for everything. I will pass information regarding your apartment on to our friends.


356 Sandra & Rick Alsington
  Ontario, Canada
  Oct 3, 2015

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time in Lagos! The weather was awesome sunny and very warm, it's a bit of an adjustment coming home to 10 degrees!

The DA apartment was perfect for two couples, Thank you for your advice on it . As usual your apartment was fully equipped and we loved having the Internet .We all spent hours on the balcony -- great view ! We also enjoyed relaxing and swimming in the pool.

We saw all the near by sites and spent a day in Seville as well which was great . Rick and I still love the Grotto we actually went on the boat ride through the Grotto this time . It was so beautiful!

On our way back to Lisbon we stayed one night close to Monsaraz The hotel is called Horta da Moura it is in the countryside and really beautiful . The rooms , views and breakfast were great. It was a great way to end our vacation !
Thank you for a great vacation . I think Lagos is one of the nicest towns in the Algarve. All the Best, Sandra and Rick
Graham and Linda.


355 Claire Askham
  Essex, England
  August, 2015

Dona Ana: Look no further this is a gem of a find. I was a little apprehensive about making an independent booking and if you are like me you still have some reservations even after reading the great reviews-well I can confirm the reviews are all correct. Marie and Ken make the process extremely easily and their attention to detail is outstanding. The holiday tips provided on their website are wonderful and they send you even more information 6 weeks prior to leaving!

We were met at the door and shown around by Barbara their property manager who was keen to make sure our stay would be trouble free and although we did not need to call her, it was helpful to know that she would be available throughout our stay if required. The apartment was clean bright and airy with all the necessary equipment needed. My husband went in the pool every day before breakfast and had the pool to himself. Although it was the height of summer the pool was never overcrowded and the children loved it (12 and 15years). The beaches are only a short walk away but the sea was a bit cold. We hired a boat right on the beach at Dona Ana to go around the grottos and caves which was lovely. Our favourite beach was Praia Porto de Mos which was a 15mins walk away downhill and then we got the bus back right outside the apartment.

The old town is only a 10mins or less walk away – longer if you go around the park at the back of the Spar which was a beautiful walk. There are so many restaurants that the recommendations given by Marie and Ken were invaluable, though we did find a couple ourselves we also liked. The food was great but you must book and reserve a table for the popular ones.

We did not hire a car but took the local buses which were easy just check times – we went to Sagres for the day and had a surf (hiring wet suits and boards).

We had such a fabulous fun and relaxing time that we are planning to return next year.

Claire and Family – Essex England


354 Bob & Jane Scott
  Aberdeenshire, Scotland
  August, 2015

Dona Ana: Once again a very big thanks for providing without doubt one of the prettiest and best equipped appartments our family has ever stayed in thus allowing us to have a very special holiday.

It was indeed a privilege to spend time at DA2. The apartment very much became home as EVERYTHING had been thought of from a bottle of wine,lovely glasses, an extensive "beach kit", DVDs, books, extensive information on our surroundings and a lovely and nicely furnished sun terrace.

Marie you were a huge help from the onset providing much needed and prompt help with our airport transfer and several other queries.

On arrival we were met by a lovely maid who obliged us with accesss to the apartment while she was cleaning which allowed our young children to change and freshen up. We then found ourselves in the hands of Barbera your Property Manager who gave us value information and security in knowing we had a point of contact during our stay.

We loved Lagos and could go on at length about such a special Town but our holiday experience lay mainly wth being in such a lovely apartment to which we very much hope to revist and soon!!

Obviously we are home home now and what a delight to receive your hand written card.
Our warmest thanks once again.


353 Sam Roberts
  Wotts, England
  July, 2015

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful holiday, thank you for letting us use your apartment and for all of your support, it was the first time I had booked independantly of a holiday company and you made it very easy and offered much needed reassurance. Your apartment is wonderful and provides not only a fantastic base for exploring Lagos but it is so well equipped with both equipment and information you can't fail to have a great time.


   
352 Ian Garlick
  Nottingham, England
  July, 2015

Dona Ana: We had a really fabulous time in Lagos and the apartment was everything we had hoped for having heard so many good things from Trish and Duncan. You really have thought of everything anyone would need or could wish to know and we very quickly felt relaxed and at home.

We were out and about each day exploring the area and took every opportunity to sample the local foods and wines at many different restaurants, both close to the apartment, in the town and many places in between :)

Our whole holiday experience has been wonderful and we will definitely be letting friends and family know all about your great apartments and the beautiful resort of Lagos.


351 Marian & Steve Enticknap
  Buckinghamshire, England
  November 5, 2014

Dona Ana: We have just returned from one of the most amazing holidays – Lagos was a delight to visit, somewhere we’d never been to before, but will certainly visit again. I hadn’t realised that the Algarve was so stunning! We spent most of our time at the beach, which was the ultimate purpose of our holiday – we especially loved ‘Praia Porto de Mõs’. A typical day consisted of waking up, cooking breakfast, prepare a packed lunch, trip to the beach, back home late afternoon. Get dressed for dinner at one of the various restaurants that you recommended – a hard life? I think not!

Being able to stroll down to the Old Town to play pitch and putt (great fun, but shame about the mosquitos!!) then explore the narrow streets was an adventure. (The shoe shops were divine!). As we had a hire car, we did venture out of Lagos a couple of times – again to recommended locations by yourselves.

The information you provided proved invaluable as all we had to do was ‘pick a page of activity’, rather than spend precious vacation time researching different things, then all agreeing on the same thing! A great holiday ‘tool!’

Your apartment didn’t disappoint – so well furnished and equipped, with plenty of crockery etc, and all mod cons that we’re all used to these days. That all the rooms led out to the large terrace was great – the pool was too cold for me to go in, but Steve and the boys swam regularly!! Also the DVD’s and books you provided was a lovely touch – after a day in the sun, chilling out watching a movie or a quiet read was great.

You’re a tough act to follow! I would also like to mention Barbara and her husband – they was great, very friendly and efficient – made check in very simple!! ‘Obrigardo’ Marie and Ken for letting us stay in your beautiful apartment……… we’ll be sure to come back again soon.


350 Vivienne & Brian
  Liverpool, England
  October 26, 2014

Dona Ana: This is a beautiful, comfortable and spacious apartment. No detail has been spared and the instructions for all the appliances were extremely helpful. There are many good restaurants within walking distance but our particular favourites in Lagos town are the Sao Goncalo and the No Patio. If you prefer an evening in self catering, the lounge and dining table are particularly comfortable with all the necessary equipment.Alternatively you can dine "al fresco" on the private terrace. The swimming pool area was lovely and peaceful when we stayed in September and also very well maintained. We have been to Lagos many times over the past 14 years but this was our first visit to this apartment and we will definitely return.


349 Ron and Genie Chapman
  Toronto, Canada
  October 11, 2014

Dona Ana: We were very impressed from first contact with Marie and Ken's efficient handling of requests and the abundance of helpful hints and area knowledge. Everything went according to plan. The apartment is much larger than appears from the pictures. It is equal to any two bedroom North American resort apartment. It is the best equipped apartment we have ever stayed in, comfortable and clean. Everything has been thought of. The location is about 8 minutes walk from the award winning Dona Ana beach and the great pool is just below the terrace. Local supermarkets are a short walk away and the big one about 5 minutes drive. These are owners who care about their guests and take their suggestions to heart. We would definitely return on our next visit to Lagos.


348 Stuart & Caroline Gwynn
  Swansea, Wales
  September 23, 2014

Dona Ana: Lagos is a town we absolutely adore (our 3rd visit there). It has everything anyone could want. Peace and quiet for the relaxing hours during the day, and vibrant (but not over the top) evenings in the old town.

This was our second visit to the apartment, which we highly recommend. It is clean, comfortable, and has all of the amenities and facilities you'd expect in a well-appointed apartment, including nice touches such as candles and (importantly) matches for the candles. Further nice touches are the books, DVDs, travel guides, maps, restaurant guides etc. provided for guests use. The apartment has an enormous patio (accessible from all bedrooms, lounge and kitchen), that has more than enough room for sunbathing / eating etc. The patio provided us with privacy when we wanted it, with just a few steps down to the communal pool for a dip / mixing with the friends we made. If, like me, you don’t like it too hot, the air conditioning is bliss.

The apartment is perfectly situated (for our tastes). The stunning Dona Ana beach, with its beach-side bar / restaurant is 10 minute walk away. The old town, which must have the greatest concentration of restaurants in the western world, is a 10 – 15 minute gentle stroll. The town really does come alive in the evenings, with many talented buskers and street entertainers. A pleasant addition to the town since our previous visits is the boardwalk area next to the river. This has 3 modern restaurants of which, in my opinion, The Orangery is the best (fantastic burgers). If you don’t fancy the walk into town, there are 5 restaurants (including an Italian and an Indian) with very friendly staff just behind the apartment building (literally a few seconds walk). Please don’t think that a number of restaurants behind the apartment will create noise. You hardly know they’re there. A 5 minute walk towards the beach will take you to yet another couple of restaurants, and for those of you that love to watch sport, there is a small, friendly bar a 5 minute walk away that has a number of screens that’ll show whatever is going on at the time.

Ken and Marie are extremely friendly and accommodating, and will go out of their way to assist you in any way that they can (unlike many apartment owners). Barbara, Ken and Marie’s property manager, is also very helpful (with seemingly limitless energy), and is always available to answer any questions you may have.
In summary, perfect apartment, perfect location. We will definitely be going back.


347 Keith Dillon
  Lancs, England
  September 11, 2014

Dona Ana: We had a great time thanks, everywhere was very near so we didn't need a car at all, we went to the local beaches, Doña Anna, Porto dos Mos, and a couple near the town. The restaurant at Pria O Camila was fantastic, and a local place in the town (sorry can't remember the name) was great, as was the pizza at Rue Garret.


346 Julie & Gary Quinn
  Co Clare, Ireland
  September 6, 2014

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time in your apartment. It really couldn't have been more comfortable and we loved Lagos. Gary was up running every day and then I'd go up with him to Dona Ana beach for a swim before the crowds arrived. We hired a car for a couple of days at the end and took a run up to Sagres. And we absolutely loved Lisbon. We rented a very classy apartment through Airbnb and were right in the middle of a great neighbourhood called Chiado - a stone's throw from all the local attractions.

The very best of wishes to you both.


345 Rob & Jo Sproston
  Staffordshire, England
  August 29, 2014

Dona Ana: We had a perfect time in Lagos! The apartment was stunning - so well equipped and ideally located for both the beach and town. The wealth of information you provided (before the holiday and at the apartment) was so helpful in enabling us to quickly find our way around this beautiful and diverse area. We've never felt so comfortable and relaxed so quickly in holiday accommodation before - you really have thought of everything when it comes to your guests' needs!

As well as exploring the town and local beaches, we did two fantastic excursions with Nelson at Coastline Algarve - coasteering and stand up paddle boarding - great fun for everyone!! We also did sea kayaking, drove up to Sagres and played in the waves at Amado beach. We visited Zoomarine, the Slide and Splash water park, went dolphin spotting from Praia da Rocha and visited the Medieval market in Silves. We ended with a wonderful 24 hours in Lisbon (building our itinerary with information provided by your good selves!) - a vibrant city with so much to see and do.

We'll definitely be back.


344 Grant & Julie English
  South Yorkshire, England
  August 20, 2014

Dona Ana: For the fourth year running we have had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in your Lagos DA apartment. As usual the apartment contained all the equipment and facilities we required – including the sewing kit which came in handy. The air conditioning in lounge & two bedrooms was a godsend on the hotter nights. Most of our days were spent by the pool, which was never crowded and is very spacious for dropping your sunbeds in a nice spot. We were still able to find new restaurants and would recommend the BBQ garden in the town. I also went go-karting at the large autodrome about 20 minutes away. I have to commend you on the value for money – rental not having increased in the last few years.

We fully intend to come back (10 days wasn’t enough this year).


343 Caroline and Gary Frith
  Nottingham, England
  August 18, 2014

Dona Ana: We stayed at the DA2 Dona Ana apartment for two weeks in July/August with our two teenage children. The apartment was really spacious, clean and well equipped, with a superb balcony overlooking the pool with access from all rooms. It was really handy just being able to walk down the few steps to the pool which meant everyone could come and go as they pleased. At times we had the pool all to ourselves and generally it was very quiet. The apartment is in a great location as only a short walk from the beautiful Dona Ana beach and a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Lagos. There is also a handy spar shop only a few minutes away and several very good restaurants on the door step. We had a very relaxing fortnight, exploring local beaches and lazing by the pool. As we had a car we also headed into the hills one day to the pretty town of Monchique, and another day we headed west to Sagres. We also went on a dolphin trip, kayaking around the grottoes and went to the water park at Aqualand. The information and restaurant recommendations provided by Ken and Marie proved really helpful, particularly at such a busy time of year, and helped us make the most of our holiday.


342 Karl & Siwan Blockwell
  Cardiff, Wales
  July 28, 2014

Dona Ana: A fantastic property right next to a quiet pool. A short walk into the local town and ideal for the local beaches. Perfect for a family.


341 Nicki & Norman Beveridge
  Ayrshire, Scotland
  July 24, 2014

Dona Ana: Brilliant appartment with fabulous facilities. Marie and Ken have equipped their accommodation to a very high standard - a real home away from home with all you need. Very spacious. Good local restaurants and short walk to Lagos old town where there are more restaurants and entertainment. Enjoy a pleasant evening stroll along the waterfront, to the Marina or walk along to Camilo beach where there is a lovely restaurant. The appartment is well placed for enjoying local beaches a short walk away or there is the good local bus service. We had a brilliant holiday.


340 Karin de Hoog
  Woerden, Netherlands
  July 23, 2014

Dona Ana: Thank you so much, we've had such a wonderful holiday in Lagos at your apartment. Your apartment was really comfortable and large.


339 Elizabeth Day
  South Yorkshire, England
  July 9, 2014

Dona Ana: We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Dona Ana DA2 Apartment and we thought the apartment was outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the position of it right next to the pool and also the easy walking distance to both the beach and old town. We would not hesitate it recommending it.


338 Nathalie, Nils, Maik and Michael
  Berlin, Germany
  July 6, 2014

Dona Ana: My husband and me and two friends had a wonderful week in Ken and Maries Apartment in Lagos. The contact with Marie was right from the beginning so heartly. Arriving at the apartment, Barbara - the property Manager - gave us a very warm welcome and helped us with every question we had every time. She's a jewel! :-) The apartment is so nice and has really everything you need. We loved hanging on the huge terrace with a glass of wine. Every morning and afternoon I was swimming in the refreshing pool. The walk to my favorite Dona Ana Beach was only a few minutes - to Lagos Downtown only 10 Mins. Just perfect!!! I will definitely come back to this wonderful place!


337 Roger & Wendy Kennaby
  Suffolk, England
  June 12, 2014

Dona Ana: Hello Ken & Marie, Just to say we had a wonderful time in Lagos and were thoroughly spoilt having stayed in your lovely apartment. We have been to Lagos many times before but must say that your location and quality of accomodation far exceeds anything else we have ever booked and certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else (if you will have us) on our next visit.

We wish you and Ken well you obviously work very hard also Barbara for being so helpful when we arrived. Look forward to staying again perhaps next year. Thanks again for our stay ; when we have our next holiday dates we'll get on to you.


336 Larry & Susan Israel
  Georgetown Ontario, Canada
  April 17, 2014

Dona Ana: We have thoroughly enjoyed the apartment in Lagos Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the ocean can't get any better Location is amazing steps away from dining, the beach,shopping in the old town Your complete guide to everything helped plan most of our days We had such a great time we are booking for 2015.


335 Francie & Joe D'Annunzio
  Ottawa, Canada
  March 15, 2014

Dona Ana: Fabulous place and holiday !
My husband and I just spent one month in Lagos. It was our first time in Portugal. What a beautiful place it is! We had a wonderful holiday. Marie and Ken have a lovely apartment it is spacious well equipped and comfortable, what we liked most is the balcony that looked on to the Ocean. My husband would be up early taking pictures of the amazing sunrise.

Lagos, and the surrounding area have one of the most beautiful scenic spots that we have had the pleasure to visit. There are lots of good restaurants and coffee shops with delicious cakes.
We were happy that most Portuguese spoke English and are very friendly. I would highly recommend this beautiful spot called Lagos.


334 Nicki & Norman Beveridge
  Ayrshire, Scotland
  Januaryr 5, 2014

Dona Ana: Fabulous place and holiday !
Ken and Marie provide a fabulous appartment. Spacious, light, very well equipped including picnic cool box - perfect for the beach! All the right ingredients for a relaxing or energetic holiday - whatever you choose! Easy strolls to Lagos old town, with its narrow cobbled streets, packed with loads of quality restaurants and local entertainment in the main square. Alternatively Ken and Marie have provided loads of details for local trips. You don't need to hire a car unless you want to. Good local bus service, plenty of friendly taxi's. For us, this place is a real 'home from home'. Excellent customer service from owners and Barbara the local property manager. A jewel in the western algarve. Bon voyage !


333 Karen Ross
  Preston Lancs, England
  October 29, 2013

Dona Ana: Thank you Ken and Marie for sharing your holiday apartment with us. The whole experience from booking to leaving has been very efficiently thought through to provide maximum information and security to us as your clients. There were no unpleasant surprises, if I needed any information it was right there on your excellent website. Your website goes way beyond a website focussed just on the rental of your apartment. It is a comprehensive tourist information guide for the whole area. The apartment itself is extremely comfortable, well situated and well maintained. We felt very relaxed, welcome and at home while we were there. Everything is provided, there was nothing at all missing. It rained on a couple of mornings but it was nice to spend that time cosied up with a good DVD. Barbara was lovely and welcoming as was the basic food package that she brought for us. Lagos is a wonderful relaxed place to be with everything that you could wish for in a holiday abroad, sun, sea, sand and sangria. There was plenty to do and see even though we had decided not to hire a car. There were lots of trips from the harbour and it was nice to spend time just mooching round the shops and restaurants in Lagos. Another nice thing about Portugal and Lagos is that things are affordable once you're there, We have been on holidays before where the price of eating out is prohibitive which spoils the overall experience. In Lagos everything seems reasonably priced, eating and drinking out, shopping in the local supermarkets and in the gift shops and clothes shops. I have already recommended Simply Lagos to my parents and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.


332 Trish & Duncan Moore
  Nottingham, England
  September 27, 2013

Dona Ana: We have stayed at these delightful apartments each year since 2008 I think that says it all..... They are perfect for a romantic break (Our 35th wedding anniversary) to full on family holidays there were 9 of us 2011 when the grand children really enjoyed being able to go off Nana and Grandpa's patio in DA2 into 'their pool' or be safe to play with the pool gate locked or have breakfast overlooking the square from DA. These apartments are a real home from home you could even bake a cake. So close to wonderful restaurants, fanatastic beaches and Barbara ready to give help or advice on the other end of the phone. If you get the chance give Mullins a go -great fun. Onda Norte - best steak but huge portions. We will be returning again next year as there is still so much to explore.


331 Grant & Julie English
  South Yorkshire, England
  August 21, 2013

Dona Ana: As usual we had a wonderful stay and the apartment and area has come to feel like a second home. The apartment was up to it’s usual very high standard of cleanliness and facilities (it has everything needed & more – the cooler/picnic box was ideal for our visit to the waterpark). The air conditioning was a godsend this year as it was very hot (+95F) for a few days. And great to just lift up from the sunbed and drop into the pool.

Everyone in the complex is so friendly and it is so easy to make friends very quickly round the pool. Again, this was never too busy and sometimes the children had the pool to themselves. We treated our daughters to day out at slide & splash & a final meal at Taberna de Lagos on Rue de Abril 25 – their favourite restaurant – on our last night. Barbara was, as usual, very helpful & friendly.

My youngest daughter insisted on writing a personal thank you in your apartment guest/visitors book. Hope to be back again next year.


330 Nicky & Russell Wylie
  Wirral, England
  August 8, 2013

Dona Ana: We had a lovely holiday in Lagos and thoroughly enjoyed your apartment - it was beautifully equipped and had everything we needed. Cant think of any faults! Once again, many thanks for letting us use your apartment and for all the useful information on your website.


329 Bill Walsh
  Co Wicklow, Ireland
  July 25, 2013

Dona Ana: We had a great holiday in Lagos thank you.
Your apartment is lovely. The experience from arrival to departure was marvellous.


328 Phyllis & Henry Stuart
  Co Wicklow, Ireland
  July 22, 2013

Dona Ana: We really had a fab holiday. Our lads spent the days Go Karting, Kayaking swimming and eyeing the local talent. We spent our days reading, swimming and enjoying the food in the lovely restaurants. Well Ken and Marie I’ve got to hand it to you your
apartment was out of this world and as for the lovely Barbra she is a real treasure. We will be back in the not to distant future and have already told friends and family about our Lagos experience.


327 Nancy and Bill
  Ottawa, Canada
  July 22, 2013

Dona Ana: Lagos is a wonderful town in the Algarve. The people are so friendly and there is lots to see and do. Our stay in your Dona Ana apartment this past March was excellent The apartment is so well equiped and the location is great. It is within walking distance of the old town, a number of beaches as well as many restaurants. Once again the information and maps provided on your simplylagos.com website was invaluable. We will definitely be returning to stay at your accomodations in the future.


326 Matt Andrews
  Stonehaven, Scotland
  July 19, 2013

Dona Ana: We've just arrived back and had a wonderful time. Our children loved the pool and the beaches and we enjoyed the food and the great weather. Everything was good with the apartment, we had no issues and the instructions were very help full. Thanks for all your help.


325 John & Lesley Sullivan
  Dublin, Ireland
  June 21, 2013

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time and were very impressed with the scenery and the friendly people. The apartment was very comfortable and definitely the best equipped apartment we have ever stayed in.


324 Stewart & Marion Smith
  Glasgow, Scotland
  June 21, 2013

Dona Ana: "one of the most organised and spacious apartments I've stayed in. great local restaurants right on your door step that are excellent value and so close for accessing the fabulous beaches"
thanks again


323 Nicki & Norman Beveridge
  Dundonald, Scotland
  June 21, 2013

Dona Ana: Brilliant Holiday.
Fabulous spacious appartment. Great location. Easy access to great local beaches, restaurants, shops. Ken and & Marie have make it as easy as possible for you to have a good holiday. Thoughtful touches like games, DVD's, books, cool box for picnics are really helpful. Place is clean and nicely furnished and has all the facilities you might need. Barbara, the property manager, is friendly and helpful - a real asset.

Lagos is a lovely place, with the old town, its walls and the lovely garden areas that have been created. Lots of nice walks around the place and the Cultural Centre has a range of good events taking place throughout the year. If you don't fancy driving, there is a good local bus service.

We have been visiting the area for years now and book through Ken & Marie. For us, the place is like another home - we love it so much. Warmest regards, Nicki


322 Don and Marie Bowness
  PEI, Canada
  June 5, 2013

Dona Ana: Many thanks to you , Ken & Marie. Friends of ours had highly recommended your place for a stay in Portugal and they were certainly right on!
Our stay was wonderful: the view of the ocean ( and the occasional cruise ship), watching sailing ships go by, the pool , the easy walk to our favourite beach , Praia Dona Ana, hiking along to Luz, to name just a few highlights.
The apartment itself was great, clean and very, very well equipped with everything we might need. All of your work to draw up such an excellent website helped us to prepare. We were even able to direct a few other people with your great maps!
Barbara was so kind and helpful as we arrived and if any questions popped up during our month.
We loved the easy access to Old Town and hiking trails. Again, your maps really helped us out there. Once we were there for a few days we actually were well oriented and could comfortably walk to a nearby grocery , one of our favourite restaurants, a museum, the waterfront, or a shop.
We were so impressed with the local food, people and scenery. We rented a car for just one week of our stay and did several day trips to castles, forts and fishing towns, with the help of your maps again.
We definitely hope to come back again! Thanks again !


321 Sherry & Bob
  Wiltshire, UK
  May 29, 2013

Website: Just had to drop you a line to say what a wonderful web site you have. We have been travelling from England since last September on our own motor boat, our next stop is Lagos and was just looking at any information on the web about the marina, town etc when I came across your web page, can honestly tell you it is the best information I have found on the web about any place since we left UK. It has every single piece of information that any one could ever need, thank you so much. I am sure many hours of work have gone into creating such a good informative web site, and Good luck for the future. Portugal has to be my favourite place. Thank you for your time. Very kindest regards, Sherry & Bob!


320 Val & Greg Krisch, John & Leeanne Vekasit
  Edmonton, Canada
  May 22, 2013

Dona Ana: This was our first trip to Portugal and once we found your web site, we knew we had hit "gold." Your attention to detail and extremely helpful tips certainly made this a fantastic vacation. Barbara was there to meet us when we arrived and made us feel so "at home" immediately. We loved the apartment - the spaciousness, the decor, and the huge balcony, plus all the necessities in the kitchen. We enjoyed the sightseeing excursions (thanks to your handy guide) and walking on the cliff trails. Portugal has spectacular scenery, great food, and friendly people. One trip will not be enough to satisfy our "new find." Thanks Ken and Marie for sharing your treasure!


319 Pierre & Nicole Clement
  Marionville, Canada
  March 10, 2013

Dona Ana: This was our first time to Portugal and our 3-week vacation was amazing. Our stay to Lagos was very enjoyable and memorable. The Dona Ana apartment is well located. Close to beaches, good walking distance to old town and many restaurants. The apartment was great and better than expected. We felt like home. The information that you prepared for your guests is very informative and useful. We referred to it often. We will be returning and will not hesitate to recommend Lagos and your accommodations to family and friends. Thank you Ken and Marie.


318 John Horton
  Southhampton, England
  March 10, 2013

Dona Ana: This was our third visit to the Dona Ana apartments and this time we spent 4 days in DA2 due to the unavailability of our usual upstairs berth. Although initially disappointed not to be able to return to the apartment that we had previously enjoyed so much, in the end we decided we actually preferred DA2 due the the huge expanse of the balcony / varanda area, undiminished views, and the wide range of external furnishings.

As previously, our overall enjoyment of our Portuguese break was hugely contributed to by the quality and location of our accommodation. This time round we had a second attempt to visit Praia de Bordeira (sea mist put paid to our first visit) and agree with Ken and Marie that the beach is fantastic, and the food in the nearby Sitio do Rio equally so.

On this visit we also spent a lot of time with estate agents and eventually secured our own Lagos retreat. Our only regret is that we will not be enjoying Ken and Marie's hospitality and excellent accommodation again - but thanks for the introduction to a wonderful part of the world.


317 Timothy & Ann Allen
  California, USA
  January 4, 2013

Dona Ana: Happy New Year! Marie, we had a great Portugal/Lagos vacation. After the long flight, Pedro was standing in the front of the crowd with a sign as we walked out into the sea of people! It was fantastic to have him there to greet us, sweep us up, and take us on our way. He is very knowledgable and was able to answer all of our questions as well as provide suggestions for our curious minds. Before arriving to the apartment, he made a quick stop at the supermarket for us. This was a big plus because we arrived in the early evening and needed to get essentials. Barbara was next up on the greeting team. She is a fabulous personality and we really enjoyed her! She also got us set up right away. The apartment was nice, clean, and very well located! We took walks everyday into town and to the beach. Being winter and during the holiday season many places were closed. Our favorite restaurant was Casa Do Ze. We did a lot of walking and were quickly able to get a hold of where we were in town, as crazy it first seemed. We created our own routes and enjoyed the people watching. The departure was simple and smooth too. Experiencing such an easy arrival and departure really makes a difference! In Lisbon, we stayed at the Sheraton. We didn't have much time there but we took the subway to the waterfront at the Expo area. This was a great way to spend the afternoon! At night, we walked to Colinho's restaurant (about 3 blocks from the Sheraton) for dinner. This may go down as my best dinner ever! Another great way to put an end to things. The next day, Pedro's service picked us up from the Sheraton and took us to the airport. It wasn't Pedro this time but he called to wish us well as which we found to be very caring and personal.

Thanks again for a fantastic accommodation and beyond!


316 Linda & John Healy
  Illinois, USA
  November 21, 2012

Dona Ana: Our compliments to you for the lovely apartments. They were so well appointed that we immediately felt at home. The stacks of information, maps, suggestions of places to go were extremely useful. We went to some of Jill & Carl’s favorites, but also struck out in many new directions. Pat & I and my son took a day trip to Seville by car. We highly recommend it! I also add our high praise of Pedro with Lisbon Taxi. He was amazing. Always early, full of excellent information, warm and personable. We felt really well taken care of and had great peace of mind knowing he was going to help our son negotiate getting from the airport to the bus station after arriving in Lisbon on his own. Pedro was so reasonable and reliable – we will definitely hire him again, should we be so lucky to return. Thanks again for making the whole process easy.


315 Carl & Jill Chafin
  Virginia, USA
  November 20, 2012

Dona Ana: "We have stayed in the Dona Ana apartment twice now and we love it. The attention to detail related to most everything is obvious. It is very comfortable with plenty of room. We like to cook and the kitchen is very functional and suits our needs well. The apartment is located within comfortable walking distance of great restaurants/bars, a small grocery store and the center of Lagos. The big grocery store and many other places to eat and shop are within an easy few minutes drive. We particularly enjoyed the food and the views from the two restaurants, O'Antonio and Campimar, on the beach at Mos. The apartment is also well located for getting out of town for day trips around the Algarve. Sagres, Cabo St. Vincent, Silves, and Monchique were our favorites. There is no place that we have ever stayed that we enjoy more than the Lagos area in general and the Dona Ana apartment in particular. For us it is as close to a perfect vacation as it gets." We hope to do it again soon. Happy holidays.


314 John Horton & Julie Mills
  Southhampton, England
  October 29, 2012

Dona Ana: We really enjoyed the use of the upstairs apartment for a second year. Again we found it perfectly appointed and ideally situated, and the holiday information both in the apartment and on the web-site was very helpful. We have recommended both Lagos and this apartment to all our friends. Tips - make sure you check Lagos' cultural centre for what's on during your stay - there is nearly always an act worth seeing. Also check out the Casa do Ze on the waterside promenade for excellent service and good value food. In the unlikely instance that the weather is not all you hoped for during your stay, there is a well equipped health and fitness club including indoor pool in the Aqualuz Hotel close by.


313 Hamish & Elaine Duthie
  Aberdeenshire Scotland
  September 12, 2012

Dona Ana: Thank you very much for all your thoughtful, helpful advice and outstanding attention to detail. The apartment facilities, location and condition were all excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed a memorable holiday. We hope to return as it is a lovely destination for a relaxing break.


312 Sharon & Robert Quinn
  Herts, England
  September 8, 2012

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time on holiday - we loved Lagos and found the apartment a real 'home from home'. We felt that the holiday had everything we love - near enough to town for a easy walk there and back, close enough to the lovely views and cliff walks too and having the balcony straight on to the pool made it feel like our own villa. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and we were happy spending all day there sometimes. The information pack at the apartment gave us great ideas for eating and trips and really helped us to settle in quickly. Barbara was really helpful when we needed her.


311

Kerry Cousins

  Derbyshire, England
  September 7, 2012

Dona Ana: We have had the best holiday ever your apartment is amazing we didn't want to come home. We have visited Lagos three times now everytime we fall in love with the people and the place a little more. The summer of 2012 was no exception Ken and Maries apartment is the best apartment we have stayed in we couldn't fault it. It was home from home there is every thing you need to cook a full christmas dinner including a turkey baster !!!!!! The views are amazing the pool is clean and warm well worth a visit.


310

Amanda & Mark Walton

  Cirencester, England
  August 29, 2012

Dona Ana: We stayed as a family of four (kids aged 8 and 5) in Dona Ana for a week in late July and less than a month later we have booked again for next year. What can we say about this apartment? Great location - close to the beach, minutes from the supermarket, nearby restaurants and 10 minutes from the Old Town walls; very spacious; peaceful and relaxing environment; and there is great attention to detail from hosts Marie and Ken who have clearly thought long and hard about what all types of guests might need. We really liked Lagos itself as well. We didn't hire a car this time round and found we didn't need one as the apartment is so well placed, but Marie had provided so much information and so many recommendations about the surrounding area as well as Lagos that next time, we're staying longer and plan to explore a bit further as well.

Many thanks for such a lovely holiday - we all really enjoyed it!


309

Stuart & Caroline Gwynn

  Swansea, Wales
  August 20, 2012

Dona Ana: We would all like to thank you and Ken very much for the use of your superb apartment. It is definitely the most comfortable we have ever stayed in. The cleanliness, comfort, and privacy are some of the standout aspects, as well as your attention to detail from the excellent guides, the box of matches for candles, to the use of the cool box for the beautiful days on the beach. Many times we have stayed at apartments / villas where some utensils or equipment have been broken or missing. But everything we needed (and more) was provided and in excellent condition at your apartment. The welcoming bread, milk and water was very generous – thank you for that. Barbara was extremely friendly and helpful, and it looks like she works very hard on your behalf.

We have already been telling our friends and family about your apartment, and are recommending it to anyone who’ll listen.

Lagos was everything we remembered – hot, azure blue days at the stunning beaches or by the pool, and a riot of colour and energy in the old town at night. I’m not sure what the collective term for restaurants is, but Lagos definitely has them. We discovered a new open air one called ‘The Garden’ (not far from the top entrance to the old town). We spent a very enjoyable evening there watching the closing ceremony of the Olympics, and when the breeze picked up, the staff handed out blankets to anyone who wanted them. What a nice touch!

It’s very rare for Caroline to want to go back to the same accommodation, but we were all so taken by the standard and location of the apartment, that we all agreed that we will definitely return. The next time we come to Lagos (and we will – I think we’re starting to love it as much as you do), we will definitely be in touch.


308

Grant & Julie English

  South Yorkshire, England
  August 17, 2012

Dona Ana: A wonderful relaxing holiday for the second year running. We love the privacy that DA1 provides and the fact that we can catch the early evening sun on the rear balcony. As ever the apartment was fantastic, so much room that even as a family of 4 we don’t get under each other’s feet. The apartment has everything we need. Thanks for accommodating us with early than usual access to the apartment – this was really helpful. The whole apartment complex is very friendly and family orientated. Never very busy by the pool and plenty of room to relax. Again, we found the Simply Lagos site useful – even though this was our 2nd visit we used the site to visit the recommended restaurants we didn’t get round to last time. In addition, we loved the Trianglo restaurant on the tulip roundabout – they serve traditional sausage cooked in medronho as a delicious starter. I also took a couple of early morning walks following the maps you provide on the website – very serene at 7 in the morning.

We visited Camilo beach and noticed some of the rock formations out to sea are not there anymore. Nevertheless, this is a great beach to snorkel from – so many fish to see. We visited Zoomarine where the whole family enjoyed the dolphin experience, which is great value for money as entrance is included in the price. Toll payment was not a problem as there is a news agents 5 minutes from the apartment where payment can be made – on the roundabout just below Blaurte restaurant.

On the whole, a wonderful holiday and we will be coming again.


307)

Karen Lee-Bapty

  Somerset, England
  August 12, 2012

Dona Ana: A big thank you to you both, and to Barbara and the maids. We’ve never been back to the same apartment or place before, but decided to take the plunge after having such a great time in DA1 last year. We were not disappointed – we chilled out faster and loved the easy access to the pool, and the privacy offered by the large balcony in DA2 for sunbathing and meals. Both apartments are so spacious, well equipped and clean – a real home from home.

We visited our favourite beaches and restaurants, as well as hiring a car and getting out to see more of the region this year. The information on your website, and in the apartment, was a great help deciding where to drive, what to see and where to eat. We used the motorway once, but didn’t find paying the new tolls a problem. The staff at the main Post Office in Lagos were helpful - we popped in the day before we left, gave them the car registration details and they confirmed the date we had travelled and told us how much we owed. A round trip from the apartment to Faro Airport using the motorway from Lagoa to Faro in one direction and all the way back in the other cost us 11 euros. Highlights this year – watching the sunset over dinner at O Camillo, Cafe do Mar and Campimar, the waves on the Atlantic Coast, Monchique and the view from the top of the mountain.


306)

Carol & Andy Clayden

  Northampton, England
  August 1, 2012

Dona Ana: I would just like to add my thanks to you for allowing us to stay in your lovely apartment, my daughter Louise James has already said how much we all enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be coming back. The apartments are fantastic and you have thought of everything to make the holiday feel like home from home even down to a sewing kit which came in very handy plus wall to wall sunshine. We ate in some of the restaurants that you recommended and we were not disappointed the food was terrific and the staff very friendly and helpful. We spent many a happy hour or three sitting outside the little cafe just across from the apartment watching the world go by. Myself and Andy wanted a restful holiday and that is exactly what we had. I will definitely recommend the apartments to my family and friends as I know they will not be disappointed. Thank you once again for making our holiday so enjoyable.


305)

Adrienne Cribbin & Niall Dowdall

  Dublin, Ireland
  July 31, 2012

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful holiday, temperatures reaching 40 degrees at times but with a lovely breeze. Your apartment was fantastic, very well equipped and spotless. Definately more of a villa feel about it than apartment. The direct access to the pool was just perfect for our children and some days we had the pool to ourselves for hours. Barbara is a lovely lady and was extremely helpful to us. We thoroughly enjoyed Days Of Adventure trip to see 100's of dolphins, superb boat trip too and Slide 'n' Splash was great fun. We enjoyed a few trips to Dona Ana beach and thoroughly enjoyed our days on Meia Praia beach, the waves were fantastic! We had beautiful meals out, in OBriol - real home-cooking feel about it and setting is lovely, another time we had pre-dinner drinks in The Garden and went across then to No Patio for a beautiful meal but our favourite was Mullens - gorgeous meals and atmosphere, we ate there a few times! I even bought shoes in the shopshop close to Mullens inbetween courses!!! We have already recommended your apartment and website to friends and should we return to simply beautiful Lagos we will definately be staying in your apartment. Many thanks for ensuring our trip was nothing but enjoyable Marie and Ken.


304)

Louise & David James

  Northampton, England
  July 24, 2012

Dona Ana: Well once again - an amazing holiday!! As you know it was mine and my husband’s second visit but for my mother and father in law and my mum and partner and sister it was their first visit. They absolutely loved it. On our first day we arrived 2 hours before the apartment ‘check in times’ but Barbara, helpful as always, had got the DA2 apt ready for us so all 7 of us could pile in there whilst the other apt was being cleaned. I walked in and despite only having been once before 4 years ago, it felt a bit like ‘home’! What I mean is that the apt is so welcoming with everything you could want and so beautifully furnished that you don’t feel like you are in strange holiday apt. Everyone else was astounded at the size of the apt – in fact my mother in law asked if it was 2 apts – she couldn’t believe how spacious it was. Barbara then escorted them upstairs to their apt which was met with the same delight.
And so our holiday began.

We stayed at the beginning of July so pretty much coming up to peak season yet once again it was so beautifully quiet – like we had our own private pool!

We had some great local meals including 2 in Onde Norte and then very different but equally as good a little restaurant just up from Martins Electrical shop (I can’t for the life of me remember the name!). It was like stepping back in time and reminded of the restaurants in Oporto when I was there 20 years ago – really delicious. Every restaurant we visited was always full of Portuguese – so you know it’s good! We were also daily visitors to the little café at the back of the apt – often we would wonder over for some breakfast and still be there 2 hours later! The tosta mistas were divine and their Francesinha was the best I have tasted.

We couldn’t go without the fantastic take out piri piri chicken! So one night we stayed in (which was lovely as we got to spend some more time in the apt) and sat on the balcony munching our way through the chicken, rice and chips. Once again delicious food and such good value for money. We had terrific weather all week – I honestly did not see a cloud at all – just beautiful blue sky. So I wanted to say thank you for letting us stay at your Dona Ana Apts – we had an amazing holiday – great weather, fantastic food, wonderful apartments – I think it’s clear I will be emailing soon to enquire for next year (if not earlier!) Often you return to a place that you loved on a previous visit and it doesn’t seem to match up to your memories – not the case here – it was everything we remembered and more.


303)

Claire O'Connell

  Dublin, Ireland
  July 13, 2012

Dona Ana: We thoroughly enjoy our stay at your lovely apartment and the hospitality on arrival and during our stay. Hopefully we will be able to return in the future.


302)

Ross Milligan

  Airdrire, Scotland
  July 11, 2012

Dona Ana: Well, that was our first time in DA2 as we normally go to DA1 and in future we will have a difficult choice to make - which one! Like DA1 it is a lovely large flat and kitted out to the same exceptional standard as DA1. This trip we decided to make a more relaxing holiday and spent loads of time in and around the pool area so the direct access from the balcony area was very handy. If I was going with children then DA2 would be a better bet due to the pool access and the large secure balcony area. Me? I'm more than content with either :-) The Big Boss and I will be back, and that is not some trite statement to keep Ken & Marie happy, but a statement of fact! This was our sixth year in Lagos and fourth on the trot to the Dona Ana complex so that must tell you something? If you are considering booking then do so with confidence, you will not be sorry.


301)

Debbie & Philip Wedgwood

  Staffordshire, England
  July 5, 2012

Dona Ana: Just returned from a week in the Dona Ana DA2 Apartment in Lagos. My husband and I took our two teenagers, Adam 16 and Emma 18 for a week relaxing on the beaches. We'd never visited Portugal before and all fell in love with it. what a fabulous time we've had. Your apartment was absolutely fantastic I couldn't believe how organised and well equipped it was, like home from home and very clean. - it was perfect for us all. The pool was very welcoming in the heat and it was great we could just nip back to the apartment for a cool drink!! Its in a fabulous location for the local beaches and just a 15 minute walk into the town where you'll find some lovely restaurants and bars.

The weather was fabulous and we spent our time on the local beaches. We went on the boat trip around the caves and went kyacking twice!!. found some lovely restaurants in the evening and enjoyed the town when Portugal were playing in the European cup, the atmosphere was fantastic. All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday and fell in love with Portugal, will certainly be returning............... thank you so much for sharing your lovely home I will certainly be recommending it to our friends and family. with kindest regards to you and Ken.


300)

Anita & Rory Brennan

  Dublin Ireland
  June 29, 2012

Dona Ana: We are back home (to rain!) having had a great holiday, all relaxed, looking & feeling healthier after soaking up some sun which we got lots of and enjoying several walks within the area and rory jogged most days around the cliffs or to the marina.

Apartment was as we were hoping it would be 'like home from home', it was very specious, had everything we needed, very comfortable with a nice personal touch. Lucy watched several of the childrens dvd's which came in very handy. Location was superb within short walking distance from the fabulous dona ana beach and the quaint old town of lagos with its amazing restaurants which we eat in most nights and browsed through the shops. I have and will continue to recommend your apartment & lagos to friends and family and we hope to return next year. Please pass on our thanks to Barbara who was very helpful throughout our stay.


299)

Bruce & Cheryl Craig

  Texas, USA
  June 5, 2012

Dona Ana: Thanks for the welcome home. We had a good flight back from Paris and now that we are back we had a moment to reflect on what was a great holiday. We had an especially good time in Portugal. Our familiarity with the Lagos area and the comfort of your vacation home really makes our stay great. I think you and Ken and Barbara do an outstanding job of making your vacation home so comfortable. Once again thanks so much for letting us stay in your vacation home. I'm sure we will be back again some time.


298)

Janette Desousa

  Oshawa, Canada
  April 28, 2012

Dona Ana: The apartment was excellent! Everything from the layout to the location to the size was perfect.

The way it is laid out with the kitchen between the two bedrooms and with doors allows for a group of adults to live comfortably together. It is very spacious allowing us to all gather together on a balcony for a drink or for a meal or for a game. At the same time if someone wanted to go off and read or take a little power nap that was also easily done. The beds were soooo comfy as were the pillows!

The location was great, at first I had thought I might like to be closer to the marina but by the time week 3 rolled around and I spent a day laying on each of the local beaches and heading into town either morning or evening. I decided Dona Ana was the best location. I walked everywhere..... to the beaches, to bars/restaurants, to Old Town, to the Marina and to the Bus Station taking me anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes. The other nice thing was being so close to two grocery store/supermarkets (Spar & the one up by the Tulip Roundabout).

I cooked a nice meal on several occasions, your kitchen is so well equipped with everything.....as is the entire apartment! It was great having the games. We enjoyed the balconies whether it was for breakfast/coffee or lunch on the pool side or for a bottle of wine or a few beers and snacks on the kitchen side.

Your maps, restaurant recommendations, notes, advice etc. etc. were very useful and we referred to them often. I felt very safe being at the apartment on my own during the 3rd week. Dona Ana was my favourite beach along with Camillo

All in all, as you can see, it was a GREAT vacation!!. Thank you again Marie.....& Ken!!


297)

Nancy Taylor & Bill Flak

  Ottawa, Canada
  April 25, 2012

Dona Ana: This was our first time to Portugal and our month long vacation was amazing. Lagos is very beautiful and is a great place to stay in the Algarve. The Dona Ana apartment is in an ideal location being close to beaches, old town, and many restaurants. The apartment was great. It is equipped like a home with many extras not normally found in a vacation rental. The information you provide on your Simply Lagos website was invaluable. We rarely left the apartment without your maps in hand. We will definitely be returning and will highly recommend Lagos and your accommodations to friends. Thank you so much Ken and Marie.


296)

Nicki & Norman Beveridge

  Dundonald, Scotland
  February 4, 2012

Dona Ana: The owners of this appartment have thoughtfully taken great care to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Its a lovely spacious appartment, well equipped, spotlessly clean. Well placed for local amenities, restaurants and of course - lovely beaches. This was a return visit for us - although we'd stayed in their other appartment before. I know that the owners have regulars - which is a great sign. Means great customer service and good value. Defininetly recommend it. Excellent.


295)

Andrew MacKellar

  Cirencester, England
  December 5, 2011

Dona Ana: Just a quick note to say thank you for providing such a well appointed, clean and comfortable apartment – we all enjoyed staying there, and my mother had a good time – we covered well over 800km during the week!


294)

John Horton

  Southhampton, England
  November 8, 2011

Dona Ana: Thanks for providing some excellent accommodation in a very pleasant part of Lagos. Things we really liked about our stay were:
-Comprehensive info on things to do, where to eat etc
-The number of really good value restaurants nearby
-Only a very short walk down into the Old Town
-The Aqualuz Hotel nearby has gym, indoor pools, hot tub, sauna and turkish baths all available to visitors (48E for 5 visits). Great for building up your appetite when the weather is not so great (which is rare in fairness).

We were in shorts and T shirts all week, but can see why the hall is full of brollies. Torrential rain seems to arrive in Novemeber very quickly out of what were until a few minutes before blue clear skies. However if you do get caught it does not take long to dry in the warm air.


293)

Dr. Colin Ray

  Stockholm, Sweden
  November 4, 2011

Dona Ana: Embarking upon the unknown usually summons a feeling of nervousness, especially when that unknown is a four hour flight to a never-before-visited holiday apartment with two small children in tow. However, from arriving at Faro International Airport and being collected by a SimplyLagos chauffeur to a week later being collected by the very same chauffeur, everything proceeded like clockwork. The DA2 apartment is excellent. Easy access to a private garden with swimming pool (plus paddling pool for the smallest visitors), proximity to several good restaurants (including the spectacular O Camilo) and a five minute stroll to the nearest cove beach, the Praia de Dona Ana, make DA2 a wonderful location for families with small children. All of the SimplyLagos personnel were highly professional, very friendly and excellent communicators. I highly recommend SimplyLagos.


292)

Heather Macdonald

  Ottawa, Canada
  October 27, 2011

Dona Ana: We had an outstanding vacation in Portugal and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the lovely, top rate accommodations. The accommodations were simply first class, with a stunning view of the Atlantic where we spent our pre-dinner time winding down and enjoying the sail boats and ocean liners floating under a clear blue, cloudless sky. The location of the apartment is ideal, with short walking distance to the old town, a multitude of restaurants, and breath taking cliffs and beaches. We would, and are, recommending your apartment as a “must” for a safe and enjoyable stay in Lagos.


291)

Alexander Wilson

  Glasgow, Scotland
  October 16, 2011

Dona Ana: We have just returned from Lagos and had a wonderful holiday. The apartment was just as good as you said it would be and we certainly hope to rent it again in the future. 


290)

Tasneem & Steve Bridgeman

  Cheshire, England
  October 14, 2011

Dona Ana: Our stay was as comfortable as ever, this time with baby on her first holiday, we managed very well to keep her safe,happy,cool and active in the apartment. She enjoyed meals on the balcony and dipped her toes in the baby pool. It is particulary useful that the apartment is so close to the pool area, with just a gate and a couple of steps between the two. The apartment was immaculate and Barbara and the maid were both very helpful.We love the location - our favourite area to stay in Lagos - and always find it very convenient and well-situated for all purposes. We will look forward to returning, I hope next year!. 


289)

Ferdinand Hendrikx

  Zevenbergen, Netherlands
  October 10, 2011

Dona Ana: We did have een very good Holiday in Your apartment en we will recoment it to our familie en friends. 


288)

Trish & Duncan Moore

  Nottingham, England
  October 4, 2011

Dona Ana: We had a wonderful time and it was great to have the whole family with us, and yes we were kept busy, I think it is the first holiday that Trish never read a complete book, but then again I never saw a golf course! The week flew by and was not really long enough Our daughter and husband Mark had been with us before but now have the addition of their twins who just loved it. As well as going in the pool with us we got them a paddling pool that they played in on the patio. Our son and his wife with their baby had never been to Portugal and like us fell in love with Lagos. They have said they will like to go back maybe with some friends. We know why you love Lagos, the town has lovely friendly atmosphere, there are some great places to eat and drink. Having been Lagos six times we have our favourite places to re-visit, and it is so nice that some people remember us Carlos at O Continho serves great food
And we have great fun trying to converse with Fernanda at Casa de Pasto Do Ze. Having said that there are still some places we have not tried yet. Your apartments feel like home now and Barbara is always on hand should we need her, we know we will be going back. We will be back in touch about next year. 


287)

Gwyn & Glen Gauley

  Calgary, Canada
  September 26, 2011

Dona Ana: We truly enjoyed our time in Portugal. We loved Lisbon with its many modes of transportation - we managed to see a lot in a week. We took the fast train to Tunes (first class) and then the slow old diesel train to Lagos! It was a great way to see the countryside. We enjoyed our time in Lagos - we needed a rest after Lisbon! We rented a car the last three days we were there so took some day trips. We particularly enjoyed the grotto tour that we picked up on the Dona Ana beach. The weather was fantastic to walk the beaches - we didn't even go down to the pool. Your apartment was very big and comfortable, tastefully decorated and well stocked. Loved having the two balconies and the drying racks.  We did use some of the information you had and appreciated the maps, etc. Thank you for everything.


286)

Denise & Tony Brady

  Nottingham, England
  September 8, 2011

Dona Ana: Once again Tony, myself and the girls would like to say a big Thank You for the wonderful, relaxing time we had at your lovely apartment. 


285)

Elayne & Mick Berry

  Bishops Stortfort, England
  September 8, 2011

Dona Ana: From start to finsih the standard and service we received was faultless, from alan (taxi service ) to barbara and all the information provided by ken and marie.........the most spacious apartment ever! Ground floor was perfect for our 2 kids to run back and forth from the pool. Every possible amenity is on your doorstep, the spa supermarket is well stocked but for a huge array of fresh fish visit the intermarche or the local fish market in town. The most superb beaches meia prai (great for sandcastles!) Dona ana for diving off the rocks and castillo beach (our favourite) for snorkelling in and out of the coves.
We took a trip to zoomarine, recommend the dolphin experience, excy but worth every penny and also the kids enjoyed slide and splash( both easily accesible by bus service) even when there was a slight turn in the weather the children still enjoyed 5 hours in the pool before warming up in the jacuzzi bath!!
We could have stayed another 2 weeks, we felt we were just getting to know the place....simply beautiful lagos. Our kids have said this was their best holiday ever you cant get a better recommendation than that! 


284)

Grant & Julie English

  South Yorkshire, England
  August 26, 2011

Dona Ana: The holiday was great. We have been to the Algarve every year for the past 10 years and your apartment & Lagos/Dona Ana are the best we have experienced. We did have a leaky kettle and a wobbly bed in the twin room but these were soon fixed after we texted Barbara -great service. 3 light bulbs blew during our stay but Barbara soon sorted them with my husbands help.

We can't think of any improvements or have asked for anything else as you have thought of it all. I don't think the pictures on your website do the apartment justice. It was much bigger than we expected, which was great, as it meant we weren't on top of each other all the time. We didn't take advantage of the wine but though it was a nice touch. Also, i didn't realise you had a safe, which was a futher bonus!! the view from the front balcony over the sea and pool couldn't have been better.

The pool areas was never too busy and our 2 girls (aged 9 & 12) were never out of the pool. Everyone was very sociable and friends were made very quickly. Makes such a difference not having to fight for sunbeds.

We ate at a number of the recommended restaurants from you guide, which were great. We also ate at another 2 worth a mention:
The pizza restaurant 2 minutes from the front door (just up the stairs at the back of Onde Norte) has a pizza oven so the food is great (also does take aways). We also ate at the Traingulo (on the tulip roundabout). Grant had portuguese sausage cooked in Medronho (don't often find it in restaurants these days). Also, the house prawn dish was superb. Meal for 2 adults + 2 kids with wine for 55 Euros. Great service & I would highly recommend.

Although the beach at Dona Ana was really nice and only 5 minutes walk the swimming/snorkelling at the beach further on (10 minutes walk), near O Castillo, was better for the kids as so many fish to see. (The fact that there was snorkelling gear in the apartment saved us a few euros as well.)

One point, the Ali Super market down the road from the apartment (towards Lagos) has closed down. However, the mini supermarket on the Tulip roundabout and the one near the old Dolphin hotel were very handy.

We would definately like to re-book but this will depend on flights so we may have to risk waiting to book until December. Thank you for a very memorable holiday.


283)

Karen & Steve Lee-Bapty

  Somerset, England
  August 24, 2011

Dona Ana: The best apartment we’ve had in 17 plus years of renting in various part of Europe. Can’t thank Ken and Marie enough for their help and attention to detail. As a previous visitor commented – the photos do not really do it justice. We loved how spacious the apartment was; the two balconies – for morning and afternoon sun/shade; the pool – which never got too busy and which we could have all to ourselves first thing in the morning and in the late afternoon; how close we were to local restaurants and the old town for eating and shopping; Dona Anna and Porto Mos beaches – which are superb and have excellent bars/restaurants for shade during the heat of the day; the local bus which stopped right outside the apartment; our dolphin watching boat trip from the marina – when we had about 100 dolphins circling the boat; and generally how welcoming everyone was including Barbara, who met us on arrival. Two weeks just wasn’t enough for us and our two teenagers (14 and 16) so we may well be back.

Thank you so much for the use of your apartment. We’ve never been to Portugal before and we loved it. We deliberately took it relatively easy – as we all needed a break – so there is loads we still want to do at some stage. Just to say the taxi service organized by Alan was also very good and I’ve emailed him to thank him too. Barbara is also lovely and gave us a very warm welcome.


282)

Nick Wilson

  Somerset, England
  August 12, 2011

Dona Ana: The apartment was simply huge- we were very impressed with the size and quality. The location of the apartment was superb. Close enough to walk to town and the beaches, but far enough out for the local restaurants to serve meals at €2-€3 per person cheaper. We went to MacDonalds at the opposite end of town- Internet connection was fast and free and the MacDonalds is the best one we've ever been to.


281)

Beverley & Paul Burton

  South Yorks, England
  August 12, 2011

Dona Ana: My Husband, myself and in particular my 4 year old Grandson had a wonderful holiday, the weather was beyond hot when we arrived but got a little cooler as the week went by { I was happy even if the very hot sun seekers were not ha ha}.My Grandson Luke loved the immaculately clean but cold pool. he spent most of the holiday in the big pool swimming with Grandad, I was tempted twice just to cool down but it was freezing !!!! having been to Portugal before I was expecting the pool to be cold so this wasn't a problem. We used a lot of the info and maps you provided, thank you for that, they really helped.

The apartment was lovely, very spacious and clean. I used the enormous patio a lot to read and relax, Luke loved the sun beds and would also chat to his little friend Sam over the wall {very cute to watch}. It was ideal that we could lock the gate each day if only to keep Luke out of the pool under protest hehe. Our neighbours and indeed all the other apartment guests were lovely people, no complaints there, we even met the family staying in your upper apartment.

Barbara is a lovely lady and was quick to help with any questions we had, Barbara also made sure we were aware of safety issues and was keen that we knew how to find the patio gate key so that Luke wouldn't wonder off, we found this to be of great help with a 4 year old exploring.

All in all Marie we had a wonderful time and would certainly visit again, the apartment is better than described, a great holiday had by all thank you.


280)

Inger & Henning Johannesen

  Herning, Denmark
  July 29, 2011

Dona Ana: We have 14 wonderful days in Lagos Portugal and around it. The apartment and all things inside/outside was working very nice for us. We will recommend your apartment to people we know.


279)

Melanie & Chris Till

  Liverpool, England
  July 28, 2011

Dona Ana: We had an absolutely fantastic time at your lovely apartment. We were very impressed with how beautifully maintained it was and have already recommended it to both of our parents. The restaurant guide that you provided was particularly useful. We followed a recommendation of yours almost every evening and did not have a bad meal. I would like to add that O'Briol is also very nice and just a stones throw away when too tired to walk all the way to town. The pool and the complex were kept immaculately clean and I couldnt find anything I was unhappy with. The kitchen was very well equipped and it was nice to have the beach toys and umbrellas to take to the beach. The cooler box was also very useful and enabled us to make some lovely feasts to enjoy on the beach. Lagos is a lovely resort and I am fully aware that we have so much more to discover in the town. We will definitely be back and Im sure our relatives will visit your place too. Thank you again for letting us use your lovely apartment.


278)

Lourdes Gutierrez & Gregory Byrne

  Dublin Ireland
  July 13, 2011

Dona Ana: We really enjoyed our stay in your apartment. It was very spacious and it had absolutely everything you need to make it feel like home. My daughter had a great time playing on the massive balcony. The location was great as it was secluded and extremedly quiet but within short walking distance from the city centre. Also, there were many restaurants right beside the apartment so there was no need to go to the city centre for food. There was a german cafe 'Gartenzwerg' within 10 minutes walking from the house where breakfast was delicious: coffee, hot chocolate, cakes, pancakes.... Very generous portions too. The pool was a bit cold for young kids because the weather hadn't been great for a few days before we arrived. We would definetely recommend this apartment to anyone.


277)

Kath & John Sherry

  Glasgow, Scotland
  July 11, 2011

Dona Ana: We had a great time in Lagos and the apartment was superb. We visited Villa Nova de Milfontes (brilliant restaurant right down on the beach below the cliff), Evora, Sintra (needed longer!) and then Lisbon. Foot weary after the palaces of Sintra and sights in Lisbon, so could have done with another week in Lagos! We will definitely return to Portugal but not next year. However, we would think of you again and thanks for everything.


276)

Nigel & Dot May

  Fife, Scotland
  July 10, 2011

Website: This is just a thank you for your fab website! Although we didn't stay in one of your properties (but will consider them for future visits) we stumbled across your site whilst researching info for a holiday in Lagos last month. What a mine of information! The Maps were especially useful and navigating Lagos by reference to the roundabouts makes it so easy! Thank you again, I'm sure any of your clients arriving in Lagos for the first time have a much better time if they study your site for while before they arrive!


275)

Bruce & Cheryl Craig

  Texas, USA
  July 3, 2011

Dona Ana: This was our first time to Lagos and certainly this will not be out last time. The condominium was superb - everything we could possible need (and the attention to it!) at our fingertips. The warm reception offered by Barbara D. kicked it all off. We enjoyed several day trips, golfing, fine dining (particularly at Paraiso), shopping at Faro, and walking the boardwalk at night. Your condominium served as the launch pad for many enjoyable days. We would recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Lagos. Thank you again!!!


274)

Sally & Edward Stone

  County Cork, Ireland
  June 27, 2011

Dona Ana: We are back and missing Lagos already. We had a fantastic time, weather great, food great, and of course the apartment as always fantastic.


273)

Ross Milligan

  Airdrire, Scotland
  June 16, 2011

Dona Ana: This was our second to the Dona Ana DA apartment, it will not be our last. When you are on holiday, or preparing to go, the last thing you want is worry about the accommodation you are going to. This is why we have returned to Ken & Maries' well appointed apartment. Book with confidence as you will not be disappointed.


272)

David & Joyce Shepherd

  London, England
  June 11, 2011

Dona Ana: We had a great time in Lagos as always and your apartment is just like home and we will be booking again towards end of year or early in 2012.


271)

Jennifer & Jean-Louis Batiot

  Annappolis Royal NS Canada
  June 1, 2011

Dona Ana: Our six weeks in Lagos were a perfect getaway from the long Nova Scotian winter. We expected spring-like weather and that is what we got. The temperatures steadily climbed from 15 C in February to the low 20's in March. Lots of sunshine! The apartment was ideally located, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The property manager, Barbara, was delightful and helpful. The town of Lagos is charming and very safe. We only rented a car for two of the six weeks and found we could walk to everything we needed. Marie's "manual" of information was invaluable, from her restaurant recommendations to practical information like local maps. It's easy to travel from Lagos to other regions of Portugal. The roads are in good condition and well marked. We would not hesitate to recommend the Dona Ana apartment and Lagos. Thanks again for the use of your beautiful apartment. We did have a great vacation and thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Portugal.


270)

Tuija & Kauko Pirskanen

  Helsinki, Finland
  May 23, 2011

Dona Ana: We were very happy with the apartment, it was clean and well kept, there was a lot of light and space. The location was superb, near the beach and old town. Also thank you very much for your kind tips and all the holiday info you provided - we have never seen such a folder full of useful information that you have in the apartment!! All in all, we had a totally enjoyable week. Thank you for referring us to LagoRent - the rate was very good, all went well and the car was new and suitable for us. If (and when) we decide to spend some time in the Algarve again, I will most definately contact you!


269)

Nicki & Norman Beveridge

  Dundonald, Scotland
  May 18, 2011

Dona Ana: As usual, we had a great time. Weather was a bit mixed, however mainly warm and sunny ! Appartment was great and we spent our time relaxing and making the most of the facilities. Thanks for the welcome pack for our arrival. All in all, a nice relaxing and peaceful time.


268)

Dave & Lily DeYoung

  New Glasgow, NS Canada
  April 23, 2011

Dona Ana: This was our second trip to Lagos and Dona Ana and it seemed even better than our first experience. Your well-equipped, well-appointed and spacious apartment offers the perfect base for exploring Lagos and the many surrounding coastal and mountain villages. Your attention to detail and prompt response to any and every request or inquiry make for a worry-free vacation. I can't imagine growing tired of the beauty and history of the area. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We hope to be back in a few years!!


267)

Corinne Cameron & Ray Docker

  Pictou Island, NS Canada
  March 30, 2011

Dona Ana: We want to thank you for providing such excellent accommodations for our first Portugal vacation. I know we will return, probably not next winter, but sometime in the future. We were impressed with the detail and efficiency of your Dona Ana 2 apartment. We lacked nothing to make our home away from home complete. Well, except for access to the internet, but we found a great German Cafe nearby where we could go every day to check our mail, etc. The weather was not great for the first 10 days, but we did enjoy great sunshine after that and spent some good hours sun bathing at the pool and reading on the deck. We also took advantage of the best days to go to the beaches. We ate good food and drank good wine. That's what vacation is all about. Right? We loved the Thai restaurant "Lemon Grass" and at Don Toro's we had some fabulous meals. Our side trip to Seville was also a highlight. Thanks again for the "Simply Lagos Experience".


266)

Margie MacDonnell-Purdy & Harold Purdy

  Nova Scotia, Canada
  January 10, 2011

Dona Ana: You were right-Lagos is a beautiful spot and we could not have had better accommodation! Our family loves to cook, so your well- equipped kitchen and visits to the market by the bus station were right up our alley. The view of the sun rising in the morning from the balcony was good for the soul! Everyone was very kind and helpful- Barbara was great and the apartment was spic and span clean! The guys at Lagorent was very kind to us! They even led us to your place. We'd highly recommend them. Again, thanks for providing such a wonderful home away from home for us to share the Christmas season with our family. We all enjoyed it very much!



© 2002-PRESENT SimplyLagos.com, Ken and Marie MacDonald -- All Rights Reserved

Visitors to this website are subject to the Terms of Use

This site was designed and constructed by Nautica Web Design